HAWMC: Daily Schedule

For the month of April, I'm participating in the Health Activist Writer's Month Challenge from Wego Health. Each day I'll be writing a health-related post based on the HAWMC prompts, aiming to challenge myself as a writer and health activist. Thanks for following!

A typical day in the life of Molly Robson...

6:45am Wake up to my iPhone alarm, currently playing a clip from The Walkmen's "Lost in Boston" (loud enough to get us out of bed).

7:00am Have breakfast with Phil at our kitchen table. I usually have either a green smoothie or some goat yogurt or almond milk with fruit, flax, and homemade granola. Phil has a similar breakfast, except with raw milk, and he'll sometimes have eggs.

7:30am Cup of green tea in front of my laptop while I check and respond to emails, catch up on the latest blog posts in my Google Reader, and Pin anything that takes my fancy (hey, it's research and inspiration!)

8am Get work done for a few hours. This is either schoolwork, client work, or prep for one of my talks or detox programs.

9:30am Go to the gym or a yoga class. My gym is about 15 minutes walking distance away, so I use that time to warm up and cool down. My typical workout routine is 35 minutes of cardio (treadmill or elliptical) followed by 15-20 minutes of strength and weight training (a big mixture). The yoga classes I've been loving lately are Iyengar or Anusara style.

10:45am Shower and snack (fruit and nuts) and back to work for an hour in my living room. That's right: my office is my couch. I look forward to having a real home office in a separate room one day!

12:30pm Lunch at home. Most likely a huge salad with lots of veggies and a form of protein - either beans, fish, cheese, or lentils. On the side, usually some sort of cracker with almond butter and natural fruit spread. I love Rude Health's Multigrain Thins.

2pm Kitchen time and most likely grocery shopping. I might be recipe testing, creating something for a talk, or simply getting ahead for dinner, but I spend a lot of time in my kitchen! Subsequently, I'm visiting my local grocery store and health food store a lot (although I try and get as much of our food as possible from the Saturday farmer's market down the road).

5pm A little more work on the laptop before Phil gets home. These days, I spend the early part of my evenings preparing food, getting work done for clients, and looking up information for our move to Boston. While we are trying not to be complete hermits during our last few months living in London, it's nice to be able to save some money for our future house and car.

7:30pm Dinner with Phil, again at our kitchen table. While it sounds very 50s housewife to have dinner on the table for when your husband gets home from work, I can assure you Phil's no Pete Campbell! When his school is on vacation, we spend equal amounts of time cooking meals for each other. In fact, he's the reason I became interested in cooking in the first place!

8:30pm Once the light stays later, we'll go for an after-dinner walk along the river or in the park near our place. For now, we're couch potatoes in the evening - we'll watch one of our favorite shows or play countless games on Sporcle.

11pm Time for bed. I've been reading some great books lately, so I'll usually read a couple of chapters before going to sleep. Some of favorite recent books: Folks, This Ain't Normal (by Joel Salatin), Learning To Breathe (by my cousin Priscilla Warner!), and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (by Barbara Kingsolver).